In its 37th year, providing shelter and support services for survivors of domestic and sexual violence, Avalon Center has appointed three new board members: Robert Beall, TJ Ptachick and Mike Rock. Avalon serves about 600 survivors every year.

Robert Beall
Beall has enjoyed a 32-year career in banking, centered in commercial banking and personnel management in Georgia. He has served on numerous boards including Habitat for Humanity in DeKalb County, Georgia; the McDonough Arts Council and Downtown Development Authority. Beall joined Eastern Virginia Bank in Williamsburg in October 2016 as Senior Vice President /Williamsburg Market Executive.

TJ Ptachick
Ptachick is a partner with King Consulting and Investment Group, a division of Davenport and Company located in New Town, where he counsels individuals, businesses and nonprofits on their finances. He volunteers for the FREE Foundation, a nonprofit that collects, sanitizes and distributes medical equipment to those in need. Ptachick earned a BS in economics, with a minor in business from William & Mary.

Mike Rock
Rock has worked with Nationwide Insurance for 33 years. He is a graduate of the University of Cincinnati with a BS and Master's degree in education. He taught school for four years prior to joining Nationwide, where he began as an agent in Cincinnati, and held several sales management positions around the country, before taking over the Williamsburg agency in 1994.

Rock is very involved in the community through the Chamber & Tourism Alliance, where he serves on the membership committee and is a member of the Lead Historic Triangle Class of 2013; and the Williamsburg Kiwanis Club, of which he is past president. He also has served on the boards of Meals on Wheels, the Williamsburg Kiwanis Foundation Board, and the Lead Historic Triangle Board.

Meet Avalon's board members at their upcoming board event a Wine Tour de France for Avalon at Le Yaca Sunday, April 23, 4-6 p.m. Learn more at www.avaloncenter.org.

Avalon recognizes outgoing board members Mark Riley, Barbara Walsh and Victoria West for many years of outstanding leadership and service. Additionally, current board members include: Glenda Turner, Busch Gardens, Chair; Emily Rossiter, Regulatory Resources, Vice Chair; Erna Rodgers, Secretary; Lynn Pryor, Mitre Corporation, Treasurer; Heidi Hawkins Bindra, Lou Cale of Coldwell Banker, Nickolas Coiner of Towne Benefits, Tina Gallien of ​Dominion Resources, Leslye Givarz ofPublic Co. Accounting Oversight Board (ret.), Erin Hogge of ​J.S.G. Corporation, Naomh Hudson of LeClair Ryan, Richard K. Lodwick, O.D. of Williamsburg Eye Associates and Kathleen Slevin of William & Mary Vice Provost for Academic Affairs (ret.).

This item was posted by a community contributor.

Copyright © 2018, The Virginia Gazette