Nominate your favorite local business in the 2018 Best Of Greater Williamsburg Contest

New Officers elected to the Tidewater Virginia Historical Society (TVHS)

On Wed. Jan 10, Joseph Burkart, out-going president, and Lee Edgerton, out-going treasurer were honored for their service to the Tidewater Virginia Historical Society. Mr. Burkart, the founder, drove the TVHS into a nationally recognized society. Taking over as president is Virginia Snyder Lee, who had previously held the office of Public Relations/Media. George Corbett was elected to the treasurer's position, Forrest Morgan, vice president; Carol Boozer, secretary; Ruth Bauer, Ambassador, Williamsburg Landing; Jane Medlin Burton, program manager; Holly Carlson, membership; and Stephanie Hughes, newsletter. Bob Schmidt serves as the Access Manager.

Tours to behind-the scene historical properties and lectures are offered throughout the year. For information about the TVHS, please visit our website at or Call (757) 258-5587.

This item was posted by a community contributor.

Copyright © 2018, The Virginia Gazette