Senator Mason announces winners of third annual art contest

Senator Monty Mason recently announced the winners of his third annual Art Contest, started in his first year as Delegate.

"It's inspiring to see the creativity and active-learning exhibited in these students' fantastic works of art. We are fortunate to have so many talented artists and supportive teachers and parents on the Peninsula,' Mason said.

Mason plans to expand the contest to include the full 1st Senate District. Terry Buntrock, Bob Carlson and Bob Oller judged this year's contest.

"I'm excited to hang and frame these in the General Assembly building this year and invite the students to visit Richmond and the Capitol during session," Mason said.

The winners are as follows: Erin Goetsch of Matoaka Elementary (K-3rd winner), Romyn Law of Clara Byrd Baker Elementary (4th-5th winner), Elizabeth Friedrichs of Lois Hornsby Middle (middle school winner) and Madyson Hansbrough of Woodside High School (high school winner). Honorable mentions include Katelyn Engle, Maesyn Albert, Katie Cosby and Margaret Poulter.

This item was posted by a community contributor.

Copyright © 2018, The Virginia Gazette