VFW Post 4639 Hold Awards Night

Voice of Democracy Audio: This is an essay program that provides high school students with the unique opportunity to express themselves in a democratic and patriotic-themed recorded essay. The 2017-2018 theme is American History: Our Hope for the Future. This year's winner Christian Hertell.

Patriot's Pen: An essay contest encourages young minds to examine America's history, along with their own experiences in modern American society, by drafting a 300- to 400-word essay, expressing their views based on a patriotic theme which is America's Gift to My Generation for 2017-2018. This year's winners include: Hosea Patteson, Chanel Hi, Adamaris De La Cruz, and Roger De La Cruz.

Teacher of the Year: recognizes exceptional teachers for their outstanding commitment to teaching Americanism and patriotism to their students. Each year, a classroom elementary, junior high and high school teacher whose curriculum focuses on citizenship education topics - for at least half of the school day in a class room environment are awarded. This year's outstanding teachers were Ms Kimberly Hundley, and Ms Lori Harms.

Scout of the Year program provides members of the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts who display standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country with the opportunity to be rewarded with college scholarships. This year's recipients are Samuel Robles-Hinkley and Michael Geesaman.

Each year the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW), Post 4639 selects a recipient for their Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award. Law enforcement organizations in the Greater Williamsburg, James City Areas provide nominations and these are reviewed by the Award Committee of this VFW Post. This year Sheriff's Deputy Timothy Renwick was selected for this Award for his outstanding service to our community.

This item was posted by a community contributor.

Copyright © 2018, The Virginia Gazette