Williamsburg Music Club's Audition Winners Recital Held at the Williamsburg Landing

On June 16th, 2016, at an event planned by its Speakers Bureau, the Williamsburg Music Club featured four Grants-in-Aid Winners of the March 2016 Auditions in a recital held at the Williamsburg Landing. These young students are part of the sixteen winners of $6,950 awarded by the Music Club. Appearing in the photo with the students are Music Club Past Presidents who were honored at the event.
The back row shows, at each end, Past Presidents Rosanne Reddin (left) who recently completed her 2014-2016 term in May, and Jane Alcorn, 2005-2006 Music Club President.
Grant winner Kyle Hu, a rising eighth grader at Grafton Middle School in Yorktown, studies with Maria Yefimova. Kyle was awarded the Junior Division First Prize Outstanding Performance Award of $750 in March of 2016. This month, Kyle is one of 29 international semifinalists competing in the Cooper International Piano Competition at Oberlin Conservatory of Music in Ohio.
Tara Davy is a rising junior at Lafayette High School. She is a voice student of Chris Mooney. Tara has won a number of local competitions and is a three year recipient of the Williamsburg Music Club's Grants-In-Aid awards. Last March, Tara received a Senior Division Second Prize Musical Achievement Award of $750. This Summer, she is attending the Vocal Young Artists program at Tanglewood Institute in Boston.
Sara Heifetz of Tabb, is the daughter and student of well known violinist and member of the Williamsburg Symphony, Arkady Heifetz. Sarah was also awarded a Senior Division Second Prize Musical Achievement Award of $750 during last March's Grants-In-Aid Auditions.
Eliza Geer is a rising senior at Jamestown High School. A current student of Sherie Aguirre, Eliza was awarded the Senior Division Honorable Mention and Encouragement Award of $300. This Summer Eliza is attending the University of Michigan's Oboe Institute.
Pictured in the front row are Past Presidents Esther Gay (left), 2006-2008; Marge Tongue, 2010-2012; Elnore Andersen;1985-87 and Sylvia Lynn, 2012-2014.
The Music Club's Speakers Bureau is proud to recognize these deserving Grant Winners, and its Past Presidents who have contributed much to the advancement of young musicians.
The Music Club offers meetings and free programs every third Wednesday of the month at 10:00 AM, starting September 21, 2016 through May 17, 2017 at Lewis Hall of Bruton Parish on Duke of Gloucester Street in Williamsburg. All are invited.

This item was posted by a community contributor.

Copyright © 2017, The Virginia Gazette