Let the democracy begin

The Virginia Gazette

Back in November, right after Election Day, a reader sent me a note suggesting we publish the names and contact information of those who were newly elected to office. Today, we're offering a bit more: the names and contact information for those now serving on the James City County Board of Supervisors, Williamsburg City Council, Williamsburg James City County School Board, some of those on the York County Board of Supervisors and School Board, the sheriffs for York and James City counties and those who represent us in the General Assembly in Richmond.

There are other elected officials – and some appointed ones who are key to keeping things moving along – but these are the ones the public is likeliest to need to call on. Sure, their information is online, and you can call the city or school offices and get routed through the system, but publishing them as a block here is a useful service and sends a powerful message about the need for engagement.

Those new to their offices are sworn in and everyone is setting up plans for the next few years, so it's a good time for all of us – public and public servants – to remember that timely, open, two-way communication is what makes our governments work. We all bear a burden to make democracy successful.

So, go ahead and clip this out and keep it where you can find it when you need to send a message to Mr. Norment in Richmond or to Sheriff Deeds here in James City. I don't yet personally know everyone listed here, but those I have met have impressed me with their genuine affection for this community and eagerness to work for its well-being. And that's a good place to start.

James City County Board of Supervisors

Powhatan District, chairman

Michael Hipple

Phone: 757-634-9895

michael.hipple@jamescitycountyva.gov

Jamestown District

Kevin Onizuk

Phone: 757-608-8414

Kevin.onizuk@jamescitycountyva.gov

Berkeley District

Ruth Larson

Phone: Phone: 757-603-0508

Ruth.larson@jamescitycountyva.gov

Roberts District, vice-chairman

John McGlennon

Phone: 757-810-2508

John.mcglennon@jamescitycountyva.gov

Stonehouse District

Sue Sadler

Phone: 757-585-9272

sue.sadler@jamescitycountyva.gov

Williamsburg City Council

Clyde Haulman, mayor

(757)784-0156

chaulman@williamsburgva.gov

Paul Freiling, vice mayor

pfreiling@williamsburgva.gov

Judy Knudson

(757) 220-0051

jknudson@williamsburgva.gov

Doug Pons

dpons@williamsburgva.gove

Scott Foster

sfoster@williamsburgva.gov

WJCC School Board

Jamestown District-JCC, Chairman

Jim Kelly - Phone: (757) 869-3292

james.kelly@wjccschools.org

Williamsburg, Vice-Chairman

Kyra Cook - Phone: (757) 503-2573

kyra.cook@wjccschools.org

Roberts District-JCC, Parlimentarian

Dr. James Beers - Phone: (757) 272-6769

james.beers@wjccschools.org

Powhatan District-JCC

Joseph Fuentes - Phone: (757) 345-8013

joe.fuentes@wjccschools.org

Williamsburg

Julie Hummel - Phone: (757) 345-8011

julie.hummel@wjccschools.org

Stonehouse District-JCC

Holly Taylor - Phone: (757) 345-8012

holly.taylor@wjccschools.org

Berkeley District-JCC

Sandra Young - Phone: (757) 345-8010

sandra.young@wjccschools.org

James City County Sheriff

Bob Deeds

Office: 757-564-2241

Cell: 757-293-8874

Email: sheriff@wjccso.hrcoxmail.com

York County Board of Supervisors, District 1

Walter C. Zaremba

(757) 253-0477 (home)

(757) 890-3328 (voice mail)

zaremba@yorkcounty.gov

York County School Board, District 1

Barbara S. Haywood

757-593-9071

bhaywood@ycsd.york.va.us

York County Sheriff

J.D. "Danny" Diggs

Office: 757-890-3630

General Assembly

Sen. Tommy Norment, (R-3rd)

(757) 259-7810 (district office) FAX 259-7812

(804) 698-7503 (Richmond office)

District03@senate.state.va.us

Sen. John Miller (D-1st)

(757) 595-1100 (district office)

(804) 698-7501 (Richmond office)

district01@senate.virginia.gov

Del. Brenda Pogge, (R-96th)

(757) 223-9690 (district office)

(804) 698-1096, (Richmond office)

DelBPogge@house.virginia.gov

Del. Monte Mason (D-93rd)

(757) 229-9310 (district office)

(804) 698-1093 (Richmond office)

DelMMason@house.virginia.gov

Bellows is editor of the Virginia Gazette. You can reach her at 757-345-2347 or at pbellows@vagazette.com

Copyright © 2017, The Virginia Gazette
64°