Alumni group to present awards to distinguished faculty, alumni

The Society for the College, an alumni group, will present faculty and alumni with awards to recognize their contribution to the College of William and Mary.

In a ceremony starting at 5 p.m. on March 29, law professor Alan Meese and physics professor Eugeniy Mikhailov each received a William Small Award, meant to recognize faculty excellence.

Meese, who earned his law degree from the University of Chicago, has been with the college since 1995. In that time, he's written dozens of articles in academic publications centered around law and policy.

After studying physics in Russia, Mikhailov earned his doctoral degree in the same field in 2003 from Texas A&M University. He taught there before coming to the college in 2006.

A native of Scotland, Small was an 18th-century philosophy professor at the college who became a mentor to Thomas Jefferson.

Two alumni of the college also won awards for working on behalf of their alma mater.

Denys Grant and the late Barbara Turner Grant won the Three Keys Award, which recognizes those who have been exemplary in support for the alumni group and the college.

Want to go?

When: 5:00 p.m., March 29

Where: 101 Ukrop Way, Miller Hall, Mason School of Business, Room 1088

Copyright © 2018, The Virginia Gazette