The Williamsburg-James City County Scholarship Fund at the Williamsburg Community Foundation awarded 54 scholarships to graduating seniors of Lafayette, Jamestown, and Warhill High Schools at a reception on June 3rd at Warhill High School.

The Scholarship Fund awarded a total of $73,640 - the largest amount ever awarded. Scholarships are made possible by contributions from individuals, businesses, high school parent-teacher-student associations, and civic groups.

Established in 1974 as the Lafayette Education Fund, the WJCC Scholarship Fund is a community-wide effort to recognize the accomplishments of local students as they graduate from high school and support their further educational achievements. 2018 marks the 44th year that these scholarships have been awarded.

Each scholarship, for $1,000 or more, is for students' post-high school educational pursuits. Scholarships were awarded in consideration of these factors: curriculum difficulty, class rank, extra-curricular activities, application essay, and financial need.

Students received the following scholarships:

Nick Paszkiewicz (Class of 2008) Memorial Scholarship: Nathaniel Baker

Riverside Williamsburg Doctors Hospital Scholarships: Sarah Barry, Madison Meredith, Wesley Whitehurst

Mike and Amy Watson Workforce Credentials Scholarship: Noah Beasley

Frank Davis Memorial Scholarship: Kennedy Becke

Williamsburg Community Foundation Scholarships: Kevin Connolly, Daniel Dormire, Daniel McWilliams, Kennedy Mills, Marissa Oquendo, Lindsey Sander, Charles Walker

Ann & James Yankovich Memorial Scholarship:Cynthia Cook

Antonio Minichiello Memorial Scholarship: Stephen Council

TowneBank Scholarships: Megan Cretney, Justin Lee, Anna Wright

Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Scholarship: Sarah Foster

Eloise Agee Honorary Scholarship:Taylor Gardner

Geoffrey H. Boerner Memorial Scholarship: Anna Hower

Kathleen O'Hare Doster Memorial Scholarship: Katharina Kemper

Swain Family Basketball with High Scholastic Achievement: Breanna Knotts

Charles K. Koch, Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Belle Long

Swain Family Engineering Scholarship: Nathan Lowery

Lloyd Thomas Johnson Memorial Scholarship: Grace Mackert

Trevor J. Times Memorial Scholarship: Julianne Mahley

Ray Freed Memorial Scholarships: Susanna Maize, Michael Spalthoff

Warhill High School PTSA Scholarship: Dean McDonough

LTC Stuart MacKenzie Memorial Scholarship: Micayla McLaughlin

Scholarship Endowment Scholarship: Lehman Montgomery

AP Calculus Scholarship in Honor of Merle Powell: Allison Moose

Bette Williams Memorial Birthday Club Scholarship: Lauren Morse

Joann Bierenbaum Memorial Scholarship: Aubree Neenan

Margaret Karene O'Hare Memorial Scholarship: Shauna Park

Rose P. Rose Memorial Scholarship: Atlee Paterno

Andrea Sartain Memorial Scholarship: Norah Peterson

Lafayette High School PTSA Scholarship: Jessica Poley

Friends of Green Spring Scholarship: Elizabeth Schell

Michael S. Herman Memorial Scholarship: Olivia Schulz

Marjorie C. Joseph Memorial Scholarship: Jeffrey Shi

Register-Sharp Citizen Scholar Award: Hannah Sims

Chesapeake Bank Scholarship: Jennifer Spratt

Virnell Bruce Scholarship: Astrid Stanley

Charles K. Koch, Jr. Memorial Scholarship: David Stinson

Julia Everts & Mark Greenawalt Scholarship: Katherine Watkins

Bruce K. and Joan H. Goodwin Memorial Scholarship: Martina Watson

Jamestown High School PTSA Scholarship: Eleanor Weber

Legacy Financial Group Scholarship: Sophia Wiatrowski

Performing Arts Scholarship: Mary Worrill

Henry Branscome Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Jack Wright

Heidi Hawkins Scholarship:Emma Yaugo

Community Service Scholarship: Samantha Zhang

For more information, please visit WilliamsburgCommunityFoundation.org or contact WCF offices at 757-259-1660.

This item was posted by a community contributor.

Copyright © 2019, The Virginia Gazette