Three from Williamsburg area named to all-Region 4A boys soccer team

Jimmy LaRoue

Jamestown’s Michael Meese and Antonio Gonzalez, and Lafayette’s Stephen Council were named All-Region 4A first team in boys soccer.

Four other Jamestown players were named to the second team, and Warhill, Jamestown and Lafayette each had two players named honorable mention.

Parker Caterbone, who has 24 goals and 13 assists in leading Smithfield High to an 18-1 record and Region 4A title, was named regional boys soccer player of the year.

He was joined on the all-region first team by teammates Ian Cullen, Brayden Bird and Zach Slone. Smithfield’s Jason Henderson was voted the regional coach of the year.

The full All-Region 4A boys soccer team is listed below.

Player of the Year: Parker Caterbone, Smithfield.

Coach of the Year: Jason Henderson, Smithfield.

First team

Forwards: Parker Caterbone, Sr., Smithfield; Michael Meese, So., Jamestown; Chase Greene, Sr., Grafton; Rivendi Pierre-Louis, Sr., Churchland; Nathan Daillaire, Sr., Grafton.

Midfielders: Antonio Gonzalez, Sr., Jamestown; Ian Cullen, Sr., Smithfield; Daniel Hoffman, So., Grafton; Robin Ahlers, Sr., Grafton; Kyle Creamer, Jr., Great Bridge.

Defenders: Brayden Bird, Sr., Smithfield; Carter Weissenfluh, Sr., Jamestown; Tre Day, Fr., Grafton; Palmer Smith, So., Deep Creek; Stephen Council, Sr., Lafayette.

Goalkeeper: Zachary Slone, Jr., Smithfield.

Second team

Forwards: Nicholas O’Reilly, Jr., Smithfield; Alejandro Castillo, Sr., Denbigh; AJ Stewart, Sr., Jamestown; Nate Smith, So., Great Bridge; Ethan McGee, Jr., Jamestown.

Midfielders: Caden Dellinger, Jr., Deep Creek; Lexio Gonzalez, So., Jamestown; Caleb Lilley, Sr., Wilson; Daniel Sanchez, Jr., Denbigh; Matthew Lutz, Jr., Smithfield.

Defenders: Peter Sells, Sr., Great Bridge; Aiden Dollins, So., Smithfield; Isaac Morrison, Sr., Churchland; Keyteh Thongvasta, Sr., Grafton; Colby O’Reilly, Jr., Smithfield.

Goalkeeper: Dominic Stumpo, Jr., Jamestown.

Honorable mention:

Denbigh: Mathias Parker, Mason Starter.

Deep Creek: Zachary Patterson, Gio Pena.

Grafton: Andrew Sabochick, John Lee.

King’s Fork: Jean-Mathias Bile, Austin Jackson.

Churchland: Junama Castillo, Alexander Moody.

Heritage: Julian Edwards, Tajalek Brown.

Warhill: Daniel Dormire, Noah Haney.

Jamestown: Augie Cooper, Ryan Jacobs.

Great Bridge: Brendan Todd, Isaiah Battle.

Lafayette: Joe Egbo, Zach Galli.

Wilson: Keyon Stitt, John Ashby.

Smithfield: Devin Rotruck, Liam Moore.

Lake Taylor: Janfer Taipia, Jalon Craig.

O’Brien can be reached by phone at 757-247-4963 and on Twitter @MartyOBrienDP

LaRoue can be reached by phone at 757-345-2342, by email at or on Twitter @jlaroue.

Copyright © 2018, The Virginia Gazette