Marshall Thundering Herd

Roundup: Pine, Linn take top Conference 18 football honors

Lafayette football linebacker/quarterback Cheyton Pine was named Group 4A Conference 18 Player of the Year and Rams coach Andy Linn earned coach of the year honors.

Lafayette played Heritage Friday night in the second round of the 4A East playoffs.

Ray Gonzalez of Grafton was defensive player of the year.

Volleyball: Greg Koon took coach of the year honors in the 3A East volleyball postseason awards and co-coach of the year distinction in Conference 25 along with Poquoson's Tim Hatok.

Poquoson's Toni-Anne Whitlow was conference and region player of the year.

Cross country: The Bruton girls' fifth-place finish last week in the 2A race in The...