West Point mayor, town council, school board sworn in


West Point’s newly elected officials are sworn in and ready to serve.

Mayor Jim Hudson, town council members Tina Gulley, Jamie Pruett, John Ragsdale and school board members Paul Diggs, Elliott Jenkins and Kay Lawson were all sworn into office this week.

Gulley, Pruett, Ragsdale, Diggs and Jenkins were sworn in by King William Circuit Court clerk Patricia Norman at a small ceremony at town hall Thursday evening.

Hudson was sworn in on Wednesday to be able to participate on the planning commission and Lawson was sworn in on Tuesday due to a previously scheduled work commitment.

Fellow council members, school board members, family and town staff watched the town hall ceremony, applauded the officials and enjoyed cake and punch together.

This is Hudson’s fourth term as Mayor and Diggs’ and Jenkins’ third term on the school board. All of the terms are unpaid and will end Dec. 31, 2022.

Luck can be reached at 757-291-2038, aluck@tidewaterreview.com or @ashleyrluck on Twitter

Copyright © 2019, The Virginia Gazette